post __ No comments

Live-streamed Conductor Roundtables

amerrick / 28th May 2020 / News

While quarantining in Stockholm, Alan Gilbert has taken on the role of host for a series of conductor roundtables held over the video conferencing platform Zoom. 

The first of these roundtables was held on May 1, and featured a lively discussion with Karina Canellakis, Daniel Harding, and Sir Simon Rattle. The chat touched on topics of the financial impact of COVID-19 on the performing arts industry, performing to an empty hall, and the future of live performances. The stream was a huge success, accumulating over 1.4k likes and 117k views on Facebook. Alan hosted a second roundtable on Friday, May 15, this time with conductors Marin Alsop, Sir Antonio Pappano, and Esa-Pekka Salonen. The series resumes on Friday, May 29, where Alan is joined by Maestro Herbert Blomstedt, Conductor Laureate of the San Francisco Symphony and Honorary Conductor of the Bamberg Symphony, Danish National Symphony Orchestra, Swedish Radio Symphony, Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra, Staatskapelle Dresden, and Honorary Conductor Laureate of NHK Symphony. 

Tune in on May 29 at 1 pm EST/ 7:00pm CET/ 8:00pm EEST on Alan’s Facebook page to watch the third installment of his Conductors Roundtable series featuring Maestro Herbert Blomstedt. Stream the first installment here, or the second here

    SHARE VIA